Before You Start
To get started with driver dispatch, you will have to have set up at least one customer and driver in the network tab. If you don't know how to do this, check out our help center article on setting up your network.
To get the most out of the automatic documents, you'll also need to have set up your account and legal settings in the settings tab. If you don't know how to do this, check out our help center article on setting up your account.
Open The Shipments Tab
To get started dispatching with FreightPath, navigate to the shipments tab located in the left navigation menu. Here, you'll see an overview of all your shipments, details, and their status. To create a new shipment, press the new shipment button located in the upper right corner of the application. You can also duplicate an existing shipment by pressing on the desired shipment row and selecting duplicate from the pop-up menu.
Build Your Shipment
Once you create a new shipment, you'll see the Create Shipment screen appear. This is where you can build your shipment and fill it out with all your information. All the information you enter here will be used to automatically build your documents (load tender/rate confirmation, bill of lading, etc.).
You must select an existing customer for your shipment. If you leave this screen without saving as a draft or booking you will lose your progress.
To dispatch to your driver of choice, begin by filling out the transportation details section of the create shipment screen. In the field that says carrier, enter the name of your company. You will then be prompted to select an option called My Company (Me).
Once you've selected yourself as the carrier for the shipment, a new field called Driver will appear to the right of the carrier field. As you start typing your drivers' name, FreightPath will suggest autocompletes. You must have set up drivers already in the network tab before dispatching to drivers.
Once you have selected your drivers, you can save your progress by pressing the Save as Draft button. To book the shipment immediately, press the Book button.
If you leave this screen without pressing either button, you will lose any unsaved progress.
Manage Your New Booking
Once you've booked and dispatched your new shipment, you'll be redirected back to the shipment tab. If you find the new shipment, you'll notice that the status has changed to Attempting Booking. It will remain there until your driver has opened the shipment on their phone (we'll show you what this looks like don't worry).
In the meantime, you can begin managing, tracking, and sharing your new booking. To begin, press anywhere on the row of your shipment (highlighted above in red) and select view from the pop-up menu that appears. You'll then be redirected to the shipment details page.
In the shipment details page you'll be able to view all the details of your current booking. Think about it as a digital rate confirmation and bill of lading. Key things to note are the tracking code, which is a unique identifier for your shipment that you can use to share with FreightPath customer support or communicate with your customers and drivers. On the right side of the page (bottom if you're on mobile), you can also see the activity feed, which shows all real time location and status updates for your booking.
Next, we'll look at the documents tab, where you can view, download, and upload new version of your automatically generated bill of lading, load tender/rate confirmation, shipping labels, and invoices for each of your shipment stops.
Sharing Shipment Details With Your Customers
You can also share shipment details with your customers from any tab in the Shipment Details Page. Simply navigate to the Share Button located at the top of the page (next to the activity feed) to generate a unique and secure shareable link for your shipment.
You can share this link with your customers to give them access to real-time tracking and status updates. However, they will not be able to see sensitive information about your internal operations, access other shipments, or view the freight cost of any shipments. The view that customers will see looks like the following:
This link will update in real time and can be accessed from any device. If you want to turn a link off after creating it and giving it to a customer, you must delete the entire shipment from the shipments tab.
(Drivers) Tracking Shipments
When a shipment is dispatched to a driver, they will receive a link in their email to open with the FreightPath Driver App. If they already have the FreightPath Driver App, they will also be able to see the same notification in the incoming tab within the app. If they don't have the app already, they will be prompted to download the app from the iOS app store or Android Play Store.
Pressing the link in the email or the incoming tab of the mobile app will bring up the following view:
The driver can review the details of the shipment, view the rate their being paid, and the exact details of the route. They will then be able to accept or decline the shipment (with reason). You will be able to see this activity in real time through the shipment details activity feed. Once a shipment has been accepted, the mobile app will redirect to the following page:
You'll notice that the blue notification header will display "Accept Shipment <<tracking code>>". You have not begun sharing any location information yet at this point.
To being real-time shipment tracking, the driver must press the Start Tracking button located in the lower left hand corner of the app. Once this button has been pressed, FreightPath will begin to update the shipment with real-time GPS data from the Driver's mobile device. The mobile device must have a cellular or wi-fi signal to track in real time.
After the Start Tracking button has been pressed, the notification header will update to remind the driver that GPS tracking is on. GPS tracking is automatically turned off after shipments have been marked delivered for driver privacy. Drivers can also stop sharing tracking at anytime by pressing the Stop Tracking button.
The FreightPath Driver App also supports real time status and problem reporting. To begin, drivers can press the Report Problem button on the main shipment page inside the mobile app. They will be redirected to a page where they can report delays or abort the shipment entirely, as well as provide specifics that will be recorded within FreightPath and shown in real-time in the FreightPath Web TMS.
(Drivers) Completing Deliveries
The most important feature of the FreightPath Driver App is to provide real-time status updates for delivery completion and to automatically collect and add proof of delivery information to the bill of lading (this digital document then serves as the proof of delivery for documentation).
To begin. drivers can press the Make Delivery button on the main shipment detail page within the FreightPath Driver App. After, they will be redirected to a page where they can specify which stop they are delivering at (for multi-stop bookings).
Drivers will be prompted to type the Consignee Name for the shipment, which will determine the time or delivery and consignee name fields on the completed and signed bill of lading (i.e. proof of delivery document). After completing and saving by pressing the next button, the Driver will be provided a screen to record a digital signature from the consignee.
This signature will appear on the signed bill of lading automatically. Once submitted, the shipment will be marked as delivered and the Driver's job is completed. All the updates will now be available on your web TMS. Let's check that out.
Viewing Completed Shipments
Once a shipment is complete, you will be able to view all the steps and delivery information in the shipment details page for that shipment. You'll be able to see all the actions the driver has taken in the activity feed with timestamped information for documentation. If you navigate to the documents tab and open the Bill of Lading, you can also view the completed proof of delivery signature.
Finally, if you return to the main Shipments Tab, you'll notice that the status of the completed shipment has changed to Completed or Completed With Error based on whether the shipment was delivered successfully or aborted.
Of note is that real-time location tracking will only begin once the start tracking button has been pressed. Thus, it is important to alert drivers and carriers of this. The app can also be used without real-time tracking if it is not desired, and used exclusively for proof of delivery and status updates.
We hope that you enjoy using the driver dispatch feature in FreightPath, and find tremendous value in it for both you and your customers. If you have any feedback or questions you can always contact us or talk to us via the real-time chat on our website and web app.